SOME VELVET MORNING — Addendum

So, my friend Anna Fields commented that this is a play that has been filmed but that she still loves it.

My reply: At first I thought the same thing, Anna, and it would certainly work well in a stage space, but the ending would “feel” totally different without the use of close ups. I am not sure I would walk away from it with the same understanding from seeing the exact same blocking and lines on stage. There are elements of her interiority that come through in rapid fire transition that, I think, require the framing of the camera to work.

On reflection, I think she agrees.

Isn’t it fun to talk about film?

Leave a Reply

